The United States, Australia, Japan, and South Korea have imposed additional sanctions on North Korea after it launched a spy satellite. The U.S. Treasury Department is targeting eight individuals and one hacking group for sanctions evasion to support North Korea’s weapons development. This is the first coordinated imposition of sanctions against North Korea by the four countries. The U.S. Secretary of State condemned the launch, stating it violated U.N. Security Council resolutions. The individuals targeted are associated with North Korea’s state-backed weapons exporters, financial institutions, and front companies. The cyber espionage group, Kimsuky, is affiliated with North Korea’s Reconnaissance General Bureau and is responsible for stealing sensitive information from various countries. Japan and South Korea have also imposed additional sanctions on North Korea-related targets. The participation of Australia in this collaboration shows that the international community is strengthening its commitment in addressing North Korea’s provocations. The U.S. has also imposed sanctions on a virtual currency mixer over North Korea links. The U.N. Security Council is split over North Korea’s spy satellite launch, and North Korea’s leader has inspected satellite photos of “major target regions.”

>Source link>

>>Join our Facebook Group be part of community. <<

By hassani

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *